top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Morgan

"Chronemics" What am I??

Updated: Oct 7, 2018

After reading the article "Chronemics," it has become apparent to me that I am a Past, Present and Future-Oriented individual. The distribution of each orientation in a total of percentage is as follows; 5%, 85%, 10% respectively.



As much as I would like to be in an equilibrium of all aspects of orientations; the Present orientation I possess supersedes both my Past and the Future orientation. The Past receives a 5%, the smallest percentage due to the fact that I am slightly nostalgic when it comes to the past events, I possess both negative and positive focuses when it comes to the past. In regards to positive memories, I strive to keep prior generation language, folklore and rituals with me to pass down to my children nevertheless I also possess negative aspects to the past such as old regrets, failures and all things that may have gone wrong in my past. All past experiences I use to circumvent any Present or Future matters that may arise or mistakes I might make.


I am 10% Future-oriented because of what I have learned in my past and present which drives me to be both wary and cognizant of the future. Furthermore, family and societal influences keep me in looking towards and planning for the future, for example, saving money for a house or a car. More so common and straightforward aspects of my daily life keep me preparing for the future whether it be school, the gym, work, etc.; therefore I am never without a future decision or aspiration.

I am 85% Present-oriented because I am a self-proclaimed hedonistic pleasure seeking person. Similar to most millennial's I tend to live in the present; blame it on the personality of my cohort or me as an individual I prefer to adopt into reality the quite foolhardy quote “When we die, the money we can't keep but we prolly spend it all 'cause the pain ain't cheap”, by Kanye West. Life is undoubtedly quite hard and depressing a depression that seems to affect quite a large number of people within my age range and what little happiness I can provide myself in the present seems a more rational choice for me. To further prove my theory of the link of Millennial's and depression which subsequently leads to frivolous spending for the briefest moments of happiness a Forbes article by Bruce Y. Lee “Depression Diagnoses Up 33% (Up 47% Among Millennial's): Why There Is An Upside “came to mind. The article raises awareness of the continuous growth of depression in the U.S; the report shows that that broken and worsening systems coupled with overpopulation and technology may be contributing to this rise in depression; for this reason, Present orientation is an excellent orientation to posses but a short-term solution to happiness.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page